How Can Parker & McConkie’s Utah Bicycle Accident Lawyer Assist You With Your Bicycle Accident Claim?
Parker & McConkie, a Utah Bicycle Accident Lawyer, can help you with your bicycle accident claim. The following are the ways we use to help our injured clients:
• We will discuss your legal options.
• We will make a recommendation for a course of action.
• We will assist you throughout the process.
• We will do whatever it takes to get a favorable outcome for your case.
• We provide a free consultation.
• We work on a contingent fee agreement, so you pay nothing unless we win.
• We will help you obtain medical attention.
• We will negotiate with insurance companies.
Parker & McConkie strives hard to remove as much stress from your life as possible so you can focus solely on healing. We will not stop until you have been fairly compensated for your damages.
Do I Need a Utah Bicycle Accident Lawyer?
Most cyclists in Utah attempt to settle claims with insurance companies following an accident, and the results aren’t always favorable to their side. That is why multiple insurance adjusters are present to do a task to lower the value of your claim as much as possible. It would be best if you weren’t in such a position.
Parker & McConkie’s bicycle accident attorneys are well-versed in the unscrupulous practices insurance adjusters use to undervalue cycling accident cases. We think that no biker should have to pay the price for someone else’s carelessness.
Utah Bicycle Laws: An Overview
Most Common Causes of Bicycle Accidents in Utah
Almost 90% of bicyclists hit by cars in Utah were injured in the past years. Vehicles failing to provide the right of way to bicyclists is the most common cause of bicycle accidents. As per California Highway Patrol, these are the common causes of bicycle incidents in Utah:
Bicycle rider using the wrong side of the road;
Auto driver making unsafe left or right turns;
A bicyclist riding from a driveway or sidewalk into the path of a car;
Auto driver opening the door as bicycle passes;
Bicycle rider weaving, leaving the edge of road or bike lane;
Bicyclist making an unsafe left turn;
Bicycle without headlight or reflectors;
Disregarding traffic signals and signs.
The majority of bicycle accidents happen at night. Fortunately, most incidents occur when cars move at slower speeds, between 1 and 9 mph; nevertheless, around 40% of bicycle accidents occur when motor vehicles travel between 10 and 39 mph. A bicyclist can receive life-changing injuries or perhaps die due to crashes at very high speeds.
What Are the Most Common Injuries in a Utah Bicycle Accident?
Some common bike accident injuries can overshadow the fun and satisfaction of riding a bike. Identifying and avoiding these injuries can significantly help riders who want to enjoy their sport as much as they enjoy moving freely and unhindered on the bike.
Common injuries caused by bicycle accidents include:
• Road rash
• Clavicle fracture
• Arm and leg fractures
• Brain injury
• Spinal cord injury
• Fatal injuries
What Kinds of Compensation Are Available to Utah Bicycle Accident Victims?
You might have reasons to file an insurance claim against the at-fault party. Parker & McConkie’s Utah bicycle accident lawyer is prepared to pursue a full financial recovery. And depending on your specific situation, we can assist you throughout the entire process of receiving money.
You may be entitled to recover the following damages:
Future medical expenses
Loss of earning capacity
Pain and suffering
Loss of enjoyment in life
Our dedicated bicycle accident lawyers understand what insurance companies look for and can develop a solid case backed up by proof. Allow us to handle your claim, and we’ll do everything we can to obtain you the maximum monetary compensation.
Proving Liability in a Utah Bicycle Accident
What You Should Do After Your Utah Bicycle Accident
If you are involved in a bicycle accident, you should take the following actions:
Contact the police immediately;
Document the bicycle accident scene;
Seek medical attention ASAP;
Avoid discussing your Utah bike accident with the at-fault’s insurance company;
Contact a Utah personal injury lawyer.
Reacting swiftly and accurately can expedite and simplify your claim, allowing you to obtain the desired outcome. The sooner you hire a Utah Bicycle injury lawyer, the sooner you’ll have an experienced team guiding you through each procedure stage.
Advice on How to Avoid Bicycle Crashes and Injuries in Utah
Bicycle Accident Statistics in Utah
Cycling has seen some fascinating shifts over the previous few decades. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), cycling has climbed in the United States over the previous ten years, both in absolute numbers and as a percentage of the population. On the other hand, bicycles are only utilized around 1% of the time as a mode of transportation.
A. Fatal Bicycle Accidents in Utah
In 2016, five bikers were killed on the road in Utah. They are included in the lethal statistics that focus on the number of individuals killed while commuting. According to the Department of Public Safety Highway Safety Office, the state had 281 fatal accidents last year, with bicycle-related deaths accounting for 1.8 percent of the total.
B. Yearly Statistics in Utah for Bicycle Accidents
This figure represents two percent of all fatal crashes in the state. In 2015, incidents between two motor vehicles resulted in 114 fatalities.
Utah Bicycle Accident FAQs
Here are the most frequently asked questions about Utah bicycle accidents in Utah:
Is it possible for cyclists to ride side by side on the road?
At least two cyclists may ride side by side at any given time. They must follow single-track rules if traffic is restricted.
What is the 3-foot guideline for passing cyclists by motorists?
Even while passing, a motorist on a moving bicycle should keep a distance of around 3 feet. When passing a bike, the car could, if required, cross the center line to give the cyclist more room. Passing is banned within 100 feet of an intersection or when approaching a curve in the road that obstructs the motorist’s view.
How does a bicyclist go across a crosswalk?
At an intersection in Utah, a bicycle and any other vehicle have the same rights and obligations. The following are the rules that should apply to both motorists and cyclists:
Any bicycle approaching the white line at the intersection must yield to other bicycles already present without a traffic light.
If two vehicles approach an intersection simultaneously and there is no traffic light signal, the car on the left must yield to the one on the right.
If the route continues through the intersection, the vehicle must yield the right-of-way to the intersecting highway.
A car traveling on an unpaved road must yield to a vehicle traveling on a paved road.
A vehicle must stop before the authorized white stop line when instructed by a traffic light or stop sign (unless otherwise directed by a police officer).
A vehicle must cede the right-of-way to pedestrians at an adjacent crosswalk when approaching a stop sign.
A bicycle may go straight through a junction on the left side of a right-hand turning lane.
A left-turning vehicle must surrender the right-of-way to oncoming traffic at an intersection.
How does bicycle compensation work in Utah?
The percentage of fault you share in the accident will affect your reimbursement. You will be banned from receiving compensation if you are 50 percent or more liable for the accident. Your compensation will be reduced if your fault is less than 50%. For example, if you share 30% of the fault and your compensation is $200,000, then you will only receive $140,000.
What is the statute of limitations for a bike accident claim in Utah?
You should bear in mind that you have four years from the date of the bicycle accident to file a claim or settle it in civil court, and waiting to file a claim will not assist you. Evidence and witness statements are usually crucial in a bicycle accident case.
If you wait three years to file your claim, your witnesses’ memories may get hazy. And if you haven’t done real-time evidence gathering for the case, the time you delay can make it extremely difficult to create a strong case.
Do bicycle riders need to obey stop signs and stop lights?
Bicyclists must follow all traffic signals, stop and yield signs, and pedestrians at a nearby crosswalk must cede the right-of-way.
If a biker aged 16 or older comes to a stop at a red light and the traffic signal does not detect their presence after 90 seconds or more, the cyclist may proceed cautiously through the intersection, provided no other vehicles or pedestrians with the right-of-way are present in or near the intersection.
Speak with an Experienced Utah Bike Accident Lawyer for a Free Consultation
Call 801-845-0440 to get in touch with a member of our firm after your accident. We can review your case for free!
Get a Free Consultation
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.