A Guide to Utah’s Motorcycle Laws

Live Chat

A Guide to Utah’s Motorcycle Laws

By Steven Jensen
|
April 20, 2022
|

Motorcycle enthusiasts in Utah have the true luxury of the open road. From the unique red rock to the picturesque canyons and mountains, the endless scenery in our great state makes for an unforgettable joy ride. 

But before you decide to hit the open road, it’s important to understand the laws on operating a motorcycle. 

Lane Filtering

Lane filtering is when a motorcyclist travels between lanes of stopped traffic. In May of 2019, the Utah Legislature passed a bill allowing lane filtering by motorcycles. However, lane filtering is only legal if the following conditions are present:

  • The posted speed limit is 45 mph or less. This means it is never legal on the freeway.   
  • Motorcycle speeds can not be more than 15 mph when filtering.           
  • The road has two or more lanes in the same direction.
  • The vehicles the motorcyclist passes must be fully stopped                   

Lane filtering offers several benefits for motorists on the roading, including cutting down on congestion at busy traffic lights and eliminating crashes. It’s important to note that The Utah Department of Public Safety cautions that only experienced riders should take advantage of lane filtering.

Helmet and Eye Protection

In Utah, riders and passengers under the age of 21 are required to wear a helmet. However, wearing one can save your life. In fact, helmets have proven to reduce the chances of death in a motorcycle crash by 37% and head injuries by nearly 70% during. To encourage riders to wear helmets, Utah courts will offer a $8 discount to any moving traffic violation if you are 21 years of age or older at the time of operation and wearing protective headgear that complies with their specifications.

Failing to wear protective headgear does not constitute contributory or comparative negligence on the part of a person seeking recovery for injuries; and may not be introduced as evidence in any civil litigation on the issue of negligence, injuries, or the mitigation of damages.

Currently, there is no legal requirement for eye protection while riding a motorcycle in Utah. However, wearing a face shield or goggles can keep your eyes safe and comfortable while riding.

Motorcycle Insurance 

Any vehicle on Utah public roads must carry insurance that meets the minimum requirement of coverage, which includes $25,000 per person for bodily injury liability, $65,000 for two or more persons for bodily injury liability, and $15,000 for property damage liability. Of course, you may want more coverage depending on your specific situation. 

Motorcycle Endorsements

Utah requires you to obtain a Utah license for motorcycle riding privileges. This license is a motorcycle endorsement that is added onto an existing state drivers license. Applicants must be at least 16 years of age to obtain a DMV motorcycle license. You can apply for a temporary learner permit by paying a fee and passing a written test. If you are 19 or younger, you must hold the learner permit for at least  two months before taking the rider test for full endorsement. The Utah Rider Education offers a 15-hour course that allows you to waive taking the rider test as well as bypass the two-month requirement for the learner permit. For the first two months of your temporary permit, you can’t have any passengers or ride after 10:00 pm.

Additional Utah Traffic Laws For Motorcyclists

  • A motorcycle must change lanes before passing a vehicle.
  • Motorcyclists may use High Occupancy Vehicle (HOV) Lanes
  • Motorcycles are not permitted to ride more than two side-by-side in one lane
  • Motorcyclists must keep both hands on the handlebars.
  • Motorcycles may use the full lane.
  • Motorcyclists must use signals at least two seconds before turning.           

You’ve Been in a Motorcycle Accident. Now What?

Riding a motorcycle is an exhilarating experience. However, there’s always a chance of an accident occurring. If you’ve been in a motorcycle accident due to another person’s negligence, it’s important to seek legal counsel to help you get fair compensation.

Most insurance companies won’t want to pay you the maximum for your motorbike accident claim. The insurance adjuster may try to persuade you to accept a lower settlement to maximize their profits. That is why you need to hire a Utah Motorcycle Accident Attorney to safeguard and handle your case so that you can receive reasonable compensation for your injuries. This is where Parker and McConkie comes in.

Contact a Utah Motorcycle Accident Lawyer Today for a Free Consultation

When you hire a Utah Motorcycle Accident Lawyer from Parker and McConkie, you hire an aggressive and experienced team with credentials that prove you will receive the best legal counsel possible/ Parker and McConkie’s Utah motorcycle accident attorneys are familiar with the courts and know how to apply the laws, rules, and processes to achieve the best possible results for our clients.

Our Utah law office gives free consultation to our clients. In other words, we only charge legal fees if and when we obtain compensation. As a result, we have a solid motivation to win your case and obtain the highest amount of compensation for you.

Contact us now at (801) 708-0029 to schedule a free consultation!

How Can We Help You?

Schedule a Free Consultation Now By Contacting Our Team at (801) 845-0440

    Locations